SCLS Administrative Council

Thursday, April 19, 2012

SCLS Headquarters



Summary of action items: 

Approved the 2013 Cost Formula

Approved Revitalizing the E-Commerce Work Group



Present: A. Barnett (1), J. Chase (6-7), J. Christensen (12), M. Friesen (3), C. Froistad, S. Lee, (8-10), T. Herold (5), B. Miller (4), S. Schultz (13), S. Selle (15), B. Stack (2)

(The number following each individual indicates the cluster they represent)

Also Present:
H. Moe, J. M. Bolthouse, M. Ibach, V. Teal Lovely, M. Van Pelt, B. Smith,

 J. Anderson

Excused:  P. Bosben (11)

Absent: J. Berg (14)

CALL TO ORDER:  M. Friesen called the meeting to order at 10:06 a.m. 

a.                  Introduction of guests/visitors: None.

b.                  Changes/additions to the agenda:  Add LSTA to Discussion

c.                   Requests to address the Council: None


Approval of previous meeting minutes:  C. Froistad moved approval of the March 22, 2012 AC minutes.  T. Herold seconded.  Motion carried. 


Action Items: 

a.      Approval of the 2013 Cost Formula:  J. Chase moved approval of the 2013 Cost Formula.  S. Schultz seconded.  Motion carried.

b.      Revitalization of E-Commerce Work Group:  M. Van Pelt noted the charge of the work group will be to compare and analyze the quotes received from the vendors, Comprise & Envisonware, and make a recommendation for contracted services.  B. Stack moved approval of revitalizing the E-Commerce Work Group.  J. Christensen seconded.  Motion carried.  M. Van Pelt shared a conversation she had with Jan Berg who was willing to chair the work group if no one else stepped forward.  S. Lee volunteered M. Gartler or M. Navarre- Saaf and T. Herold volunteered P. Mosier.  The work group should complete their work with a recommendation by Sept. 1, 2012.

Reports of action of committees/workgroups:

a.      Delivery Committee:  Will meet May 9th.  Results from the pilot project (testing the elimination of Saturday deliveries to 17 member libraries) will be presented at the May AC meeting.  The minutes may be found here:

b.      ILS Committee:   Met April 4th.  V. Teal Lovely gave an update on the action items discussed.  They include the formation of a cataloging contract review work group, turning on the “refund lost returned amount” in the production server, eliminating the manual credit option, and the timeline for the May upgrade.  The minutes may be found here:


c.       Technology Committee:  Met April 11th.  J. M. Bolthouse noted the action items include the support policy revision and an addendum to the SCLS Support Policy: Technology support for third-party ILS Systems.  Also discussed was the Crystal Reports Experimental Project.  Some LSTA money will be used to investigate whether or not Crystal Reports can be used to generate Koha statistical reports.  J. M. Botlhouse suggested reading the SCLS Technology News Blog, dated 3/14/12, for more information about the Crystal Reports.  The latest meeting minutes may be found here:

d.      E-commerce Work Group:  No report. The minutes may be found here:

e.      Non-ILS Library Lending Work Group:  Madison Public Library will present cost recommendations to the AC in May.  The work group has added members from Marshfield and Albany as well as Denise Anton Wright and Bruce Smith.  It appears the charge for the work group has been altered and different options are being explored to resolve the issues. 


f.        Cost Formula Work Group: No report.   The minutes may be found here:

Items from clusters for initial discussion:  None.  It would appear that all of the clusters are happy J


Other discussion:
a. LSTA report: 
 M. Van Pelt, B. Stack & M. Driscoll serve on the LSTA Advisory Committee.  The LSTA Committee recommended that funding for E-content be reduced from $300,000 to $200,000 for 2013 and by 2015 discontinue federal funding support.  LSTA will continue funding WISCAT.  A new LSTA grant category has been created to fund digital video editing, camera labs, etc.


Members who have volunteered to serve on the Governance Review Committee are M. Allen – BAR, S. Schultz – POR, J. Christensen – BLV, C. Froistad & J. Roughen – MPL, S. Holland – MRO, and L. Belongia – MFD.  Calls are into Adams County for a representative.  B. Stack will let M. Van Pelt know about Portage County.


Members who have volunteered to serve on the Marketing Workgroup are T. Elias – MPL, S. Schultz – POR, S. Santner – ORE, M. Palmer – REE, and a MFD rep.


Bob Bocher is retiring in May 2012.

Meeting adjourned at 11:15 a.m.

Next meeting will be May 17, 2012


Heidi Moe, Recorder