South Central logo SCLS Home
SCLS Committees
SCLS Board of Trustees


SCLS Board of Trustees

January 10, 2005 - 12:15 p.m.
SCLS Administration

Present: T. Brown, F. Cherney, R. Curtis, L. Davis-Brown, E. DeSmidt, J. Hanson, M. Howe, A. Iwata, R. Keen, C. McGuire, H. O’Donnell, T. Patton, T. Peterson, J. Pugh, J. Taft, J. Wehler, K. Williams, W. Zimdars

Also Present: P. Hamon, P. Davis, H. Moe, B. Dimick
Excused: G. Poulson, J. Kreten, J. Wheeler

Call to Order: President T. Brown called the meeting to order at 12:15 p.m.
a. Introduction of guests/visitors: None
b. Changes/additions to the agenda: None
c. Requests to address the board: E. DeSchmidt noted she and C. McGuire have been reappointed to the SCLS board representing Dane County.

Minutes: M. Howe moved approval of the December 13, 2004 minutes. K. Williams seconded. Motion carried.

Bills for Payment/Financial Statements: A. Iwata reviewed the bills for payment in the amount of $159,331.70 and moved approval. M. Howe seconded. Motion carried.

President's Report: Tom Brown noted Wisconsin Trails Magazine wrote an article which included Peter’s thoughts, as well as those of many other Wisconsinites, on their vision of what they hope Wisconsin will be like 45 years from now.

Committee Reports:

Nomination Committee: Nominations from the floor for SCLS officers for 2005 were called for. There being none, K. Williams moved to cast a unanimous ballot of the members nominated by the committee. They are: Jack Taft - President; Francis Cherney - V. President; June Hanson - Secretary; Michael Howe - Treasurer. Motion carried.

T. Brown turned the meeting over to Jack Taft, the appointed 2005 president. Jack asked the board members to review the committee sign up sheet and inform him on which committees they intend to remain serving and others on which they would like to serve.

Jack encouraged the board to attend the annual Library Legislative Day, which is February 8th. SCLS will pay the registration fee for those interested in attending.

Library legislative day in Washington takes place May 3rd. Jack raised the question of how many board members should attend this year. C. McGuire moved in favor of three board members attending. M. Howe seconded. Motion carried. K. Williams and F. Cherney volunteered to attend this year. A third representative will be selected at the next meeting.

Emerging Issues: A. Iwata noted the summaries of the OCLC report will be emailed to the Emerging committee members and they will meet again prior to the February meeting.

Advocacy: The committee met after the December meeting to discuss TABOR and review the summary of the listening session comments.

Circulation and ILL Statistics: No comment.

System Director's Report:

The University signed the delivery contract with SCLS.

The ILL project with OCLC has been successful so far. MPL is experimenting with the concept of mediated patron initiated requests on OCLC in order to more efficiently handle the volume of requests from the public. DLTCL has issued a request for information to vendors regarding the future of WISCAT. SRLAAW has recommended using OCLC on a statewide basis for interloan purposes.

On February 8th, the Governor will present his budget proposals. DOA has asked libraries to indicate what they spend on technology. DPI staff met with representatives from the Governor’s office and the Department of Revenue to discuss requests from legislators to find ways to make it possible for municipalities to gain exemption from county library taxes, even if they do not meet this tax rate locally.

Judith Wehler has resigned from the board after serving for 24 years. She has been a great asset to the board and will be very much missed.

Wyocena Public Library opened to the public and is joining LINK.

Effective June 1, 2005, the Mt. Horeb Public Library will be charging a membership fee to patrons of the Southwest Library System. This fee will help to financially support their costs, which are not currently offset from any of the SWLS counties. A brochure will be available which explains the membership fees, etc. Spring Green, Monroe and Marshall are also facing the same non-resident issue as is the Mt. Horeb Public Library.

The advocacy campaign postcards, “Speak Up For Your Library”, have proven successful so far. Over 200 patrons have completed the postcards and included their email addresss so they can be informed of current information and news pertinent to library issues.

The Rosemary Garfoot Public Library in Cross Plains had a request from the secret service regarding a patron using a library computer to conduct illegal activity. The library was asked to show their Internet sign-in sheet, but could not do so without a court order. Because of this incident (as well as what occurred at the Sun Prairie P.L.), discussion needs to take place regarding procedures for retention of data of this type, and recommendations for better communication with local law enforcement.

The end-of-year reports have been computed – Automation generates a large portion of these reports. The figures for LINK usage continue to grow.

Shawn Brommer, YS & Outreach Coordinator, and Stef Morrill attended a focus group for Spanish Virtual Reference. This focus group is very interested in this service.

New Glarus, Verona, Monroe and Monona have hired new directors. Cross Plains, Brodhead and Verona are working toward building new libraries. McFarland is working toward expanding their library.

Information Sharing: None

Public Library Advisory Committee (PLAC) Report:

Multitype Advisory Committee (MALC) Report:

LINK Report:

Agenda and Minutes for the above committees can be found on the web at:

Other Business: The board gave Tom Brown a round of applause for his service to the Board as President.

Meeting adjourned at 1:02 p.m.

2005 Board Meeting Schedule
February 14
March 14
April 11
May 9
June 13
July 11
August 8
September 12
October 10
November 14

H. Moe, Recorder

For more information about the Board of Trustees, contact Heidi Moe.