South Central logo SCLS Home
SCLS Committees
SCLS Board of Trustees


SCLS Board of Trustees

December 12, 2005 - 12:15 p.m.
SCLS Administration

Present: T. Brown, F. Cherney, R. Curtis, L. Davis-Brown, E. DeSmidt, J. Hanson, M. Howe, T. Iaccarino, A. Iwata, R. Keen, N. Nelson, T. Patton, G. Poulson, J. Pugh, J. Taft, P. Townsend, J. Wheeler, K. Williams, W. Zimdars

Also Present: P. Hamon, P. Davis, H. Moe, B. Dimick
Absent: C. McGuire, H. O’Donnell, P. Westby
Excused: J. Kreten

Call to Order: President J. Taft called the meeting to order at 12:17 p.m.
a. Introduction of guests/visitors and new board members: Hans Jensen, Director of the Portage Public Library, was introduced.
b. Changes/additions to the agenda: J. Taft requested the addition of the Nomination Committee to the agenda. M. Howe moved approval of the addition. F. Cherney seconded. Motion carried.
c. Requests to address the board: None

Minutes: K. Williams moved approval of the November 14, 2005 minutes. R. Curtis requested that, in future minutes, the first time an acronym is used, the definition of that acronym also be included. The minutes were approved.

Bills for Payment/Financial Statements: F. Cherney stated the bills were in order. M. Howe moved approval of the bills for payment in the amount of $109,259.40. J. Hanson seconded. Motion carried.

President's Report: J. Taft noted three articles in the WLA newsletter which included the election of P. Davis as the ALA Chapter Counselor, the award Kristi Williams received as Trustee of the Year, and an article written about Peter.
Library Legislative Day is 1/31/06.
Peter’s “farewell” party will be 1/12/06 from 4 – 7 p.m.

Committee Reports:

Selection Committee: K. Williams noted the committee met with SCLS staff prior to the board meeting to receive input for qualities wanted in the next System Director. A second email will be sent to library directors throughout the system for their input also. The system director position announcement has been placed in the WI State Journal and Library Hotline. The deadline for applications is January 6, 2006 and interviews will take place in March 1, 2, and 3rd. K. Williams moved approval of the appointment of Phyllis Davis as Interim Director with a salary increase of 10% of her 2006 salary. M. Howe seconded. Motion Carried. Oh, and by the way, Phyllis accepted!!
Nomination Committee: T. Brown, B. Zimdars and B. Keen comprised the Nomination Committee. On behalf of the committee, T. Brown moved approval of the recommendation of the following board members for nomination of 2006 officers - J. Taft, President; F. Cherney, V. President; J. Hanson, Secretary; M. Howe, Treasurer. B. Zimdars seconded the recommendation. Motion carried. The election of officers will be held in January.

Circulation and ILL Statistics: No comment

System Director's Report:

The language and reform bills are in the Assembly Urban Affairs Committee. Limiting access of minors to videos is still in committee – which is a good thing, and the bill attacking the maintenance of effort is also still in committee. Russ Feingold is opposed to some provisions of the Patriot Act and a filibuster could occur.

Peter attended his last LITAC (Library Information and Technology Committee) meeting. He has suggested to the state Librarian that Phyllis or Stefanie become his replacement on that committee.

The Reduced Transportation Holds experiment has cut the volume of delivery back to 2003 levels, which is a significant difference! The initial cart experiment (which would have entirely replaced our red basket system) was determined to be too expensive to undertake. Another idea was developed for creating a cart with wheels that can hold 6 of our existing red bins (2 across and stacked 3 deep). These small carts can be hooked together and could significantly reduce the amount of physical labor involved for both member libraries and drivers.

Kristi Williams recognized and thanked Peter for his passion as System Director and for his spirit of sharing. He has attended 293 board meetings as System Director (he missed one due to appendicitis). Peter received a standing ovation from the board. Peter thanked the board.

Phyllis noted a member library focus group will be meeting December 15th to discuss the SCLS Foundation.

SCLS received two non-competitive grants for delivery and technology and one competitive grant in the amount of $34,000 for early literacy which will focus on parents with children up to 3 years old.

Several automation staff attended the CODI Conference. There is a delay in the installation of the new Horizon System to replace the current Dynix system, due to the merger of the SIRSI and Dynix corporations. The central server will come to the end of its “life” (i.e. the period during which it can be maintained by contract) in June. Automation staff are working on a solution for the interim.

McFarland will hold its grand opening celebration January 8, 2006 from 1 -3.

A new report by OCLC, “Perceptions of Library Resources,” is available and will be shared with the Emerging Issues Committee.

Information Sharing:
Elizabeth Burmeister approved the SCLS 2006 Annual Plan. SCLS has already received its first check in the amount of $1,532,284.

A. Iwata noted her tenure on the LSTA (the Library Services and Technology Act) Advisory committee has ended.

Public Library Advisory Committee (PLAC) Report:

Multitype Advisory Committee (MALC) Report:

LINK Report:

Agenda and Minutes for the above committees can be found on the web at:

Other Business: The board thanked the staff for the great potluck lunch.

Meeting adjourned at 12:50 p.m.

H. Moe, Recorder


For more information about the Board of Trustees, contact Heidi Moe.