South Central logo SCLS Home
SCLS Committees
SCLS Board of Trustees


SCLS Board of Trustees

January 26, 2012 12:15 p.m.
SCLS Headquarters

Present:  J. Ashford, C. Chapman, F. Cherney, P. Cox, L. Davis-Brown, J. Harrington, T. Iaccarino, B. Keen, S. Martin, M. Nelson, H. O’Donnell, T. Patton, G. Poulson, J. Pugh, J. Wexler

Also Present: 
K. Goeden, M. Van Pelt
Excused:  E. Bruskewitz, B. Moss, N. Stevenson, P. Westby

Call to Order: G. Poulson, President, called the meeting to order at 12:18 p.m. 

  1. Introduction of guests/visitors: None
  2. Changes/additions to the agenda: None
  3. Requests to address the board:  None

Minutes: J. Wexler moved approval of the December 12, 2011 minutes.  M. Nelson seconded.  Motion carried.

Bills for Payment/Financial Statements:
 G. Poulson & J. Harrington reviewed the bills for payment in the amount of $255,333.70 and moved approval.  C. Chapman seconded.  Motion carried.

President's Report:  G. Poulson reminded the board to sign up for the 2012 board committees.  M. Furgal and P. Townsend have resigned from the board.  G. Poulson asked J. Harrington to serve as the newest trustee representative to the SCLS Foundation Board.  She agreed.

Committee Reports: None

Recess the January SCLS Board meeting for the purpose of conducting the 2012 SCLS Annual Meeting
J. Ashford moved to recess the January SCLS Board meeting to conduct the 2012 SCLS annual meeting.  S. Martin seconded.  Motion carried.  On behalf of the nomination committee, B. Keen proposed the following SCLS Board members as 2012 officers:  Gary Poulson, President; Jennifer Harrington, V. President; Judy Ashford, Treasurer; Tony Patton, Secretary.  There were no nominations from the floor. P. Cox moved to close the nominations and to cast a unanimous ballot for the slate of officers.  J. Wexler seconded.  Motion carried.
S. Martin moved adjournment of the annual meeting to reconvene the SCLS Board meeting.  J. Harrington seconded.  Motion carried.

SCLS Foundation Report:  M. Van Pelt noted the Cornerstone event donations totaled $9,240.  With expenses, the total net amount raised was $8,653.30.  The board decided they would like to hold next year’s Cornerstone event at ETC again.  The 2012 officers are Trish Frankland, President; Janet Pugh, Vice President; Peter Hamon, Treasurer; and Martha Van Pelt, Secretary.  Phyllis Davis was appointed to the foundation board.  The 2012 quarterly meeting dates will be the same as the SCLS Board.

Circulation and ILL Statistics:  No report.

System Director's Report:  M. Van Pelt noted Mary Friesen, Wyocena Library Director, was appointed Chair of the Administrative Council.  The Koha upgrade is scheduled for 1/31/2012.  The Public Access Catalog survey is being compiled and will be shared with the member libraries when it is completed.  Martha shared a few of the statistics of the PAC survey with the board.

Administrative Council (AC) Report:
The minutes may be viewed here:

Other Business:

Information sharing: 
C. Chapman noted Barb Dimick is retiring from MPL.  The Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends (WLTF) are holding their quarterly meeting February 11th at 10 a.m.  John DeBacher of DPI will be giving a presentation on legislative action reports.
M. Nelson noted Pat Townsend is recovering at home from her broken pelvis and is doing well.
Library Legislative Day is February 14th.

Meeting adjourned at 12:34 p.m. 

Heidi Moe, Recorder