South Central logo SCLS Home
SCLS Committees
SCLS Board of Trustees


SCLS Board of Trustees

January 9, 2006 - 12:15 p.m.
SCLS Administration

Present: T. Brown, R. Curtis, L. Davis-Brown, E. DeSmidt, J. Hanson, M. Howe, T. Iaccarino, R. Keen, C. McGuire, H. O’Donnell, J. Pugh, J. Taft, P. Townsend, J. Wheeler, W. Zimdars, P. Westby

Also Present: P. Davis, H. Moe, B. Dimick
Excused: F. Cherney, J. Kreten, N. Nelson, T. Patton, G. Poulson, K. Williams,

Call to Order: President J. Taft called the meeting to order at 12:18 p.m.
a. Introduction of guests/visitors and new board members: None
b. Changes/additions to the agenda: None
c. Requests to address the board: None

Minutes: B. Zimdars moved approval of the December 12, 2005 minutes. M. Howe seconded. Motion carried.

Bills for Payment/Financial Statements: L. Davis-Brown moved approval of the bills with a few minor modifications in the amount of $81,119.91. M. Howe seconded. Motion carried.

President's Report: J. Taft noted there will be an SCLS Foundation Committee meeting following the board meeting at 1:15. They will be electing officers of this committee for 2006, adopt a “conflict of interest” policy, and revise the by-laws to expand the foundation board from 7 to 9 members to allow 3 members from the public and include one representative from PLAC.

Jack also reminded the board of Peter’s Retirement party on Thursday January 12th from 4-7 p.m. at SCLS Administration.

National Library Legislative Day is May 1-2, 2006. Last year the board agreed to send three people to Washington. The question was raised who would like to attend this year and whether or not to keep the number to three representatives. B. Zimdars moved to send three board members to Washington. T. Brown seconded. M. Howe asked to amend the motion to allow up to 4 board members to attend Library Legislative Day in Washington. After much discussion, the board voted down the motion to send three board members to LLD. M. Howe moved that the topic be included in the February Board agenda. J. Pugh seconded. Motion carried.

Jack also noted that Anne Iwata’s term on the SCLS Board has not been renewed by Dane County. B. Keen moved that Anne be invited to the February board meeting. M. Howe seconded. Motion carried. It was suggested a letter of commendation and thanks for Anne’s time and commitment to the board be presented to her.

Committee Reports:

Selection Committee: The committee will be meeting at 2:30 Monday 1/9/06.

Nomination Committee: T. Brown stated the committees’ recommendation of the following board members for nomination of 2006 officers: J. Taft- President, F. Cherney-Vice President, J. Hanson – Secretary, and M. Howe – Treasurer.
R. Curtis moved the nominations be closed with a unanimous ballot of the committees’ recommendation. P. Townsend seconded. Motion carried.

Circulation and ILL Statistics: No comment

System Director's Report:

Phyllis shared that Peter’s last day at the office was hard for everyone and it’s hard to see his empty office – we keep the light on. His retirement party will be January 12th from 4-7 p.m. at SCLS Administration.

Hearings are scheduled on the library bills, SB272 – “reform bill” and SB273 – “language bill” January 10, 2006 at 1 p.m. in the North Hearing Room (2nd Floor North)
The Governor signed AB40, allowing law enforcement to retain 70% of monies acquired through drug “busts.” WEMA & WLA were both against this bill since it reduces the Common School Fund & sets an unfortunate precedent for library funding.
District legislation is being attached by some counties via resolution, but it is difficult to defend when the bill has not been drafted yet.

Phyllis received a call from a concerned citizen regarding Mt. Horeb’s policy of charging patrons who live in the Southwest Library System. Contrary to the patron’s belief, this is not system policy. Cheryl Becker and Phyllis will be meeting with the new director of the SWLS to discuss cross system reimbursement issues at the end of January.

The audit has been scheduled for the week of March 27th.

The Strategic Plan has been passed by PLAC and MALC and will be presented to the board in February.

The very first donation in the amount of $1,000 for the SCLS Foundation was received! Jodi Bender Sweeney will be presenting her findings from the feasibility and focus groups to the board in February or March. The application for tax exempt status is being worked out with our lawyer.

The SCLS Advocacy effort is serving as a statewide model. Each system in the state will receive a copy and hopefully other systems will adopt it.

The statewide virtual reference service will be called Ask/Away – Reliable Answers….Anytime (a cooperative service of WI libraries). SCLS will contribute a major role in PR for this project with a possible National Library Week event.

Stef Morrill has been appointed to serve Peter’s remaining term on Library Information and Technology Advisory Committee (LITAC) and it is a possibility that SCLS will hold a standing seat on this committee.

Bruce Smith, the Delivery Operations Manager, will present an overview of our delivery services to a Council of Library and Network Development (COLAND) meeting on January 13th.

Phyllis encouraged members to attend library legislative day January 31st. A kickoff/press conference about the Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries will be held at the Capitol. The more public library representation, the better.

SCLS will receive $6,000 of the extra $11,000 we requested from LSTA to cover gas increases for delivery. This totals $66,000 in LSTA funding we will receive for delivery in 2006.

Phyllis and other SCLS staff attended the E.D. Locke Public Library dedication in McFarland January 4th and stated it was very well attended and a lovely event.

Phyllis will be representing WLA at the ALA conference in San Antonio from January 20-25th.

Public Library Advisory Committee (PLAC) Report:

Multitype Advisory Committee (MALC) Report:

LINK Report:

Agenda and Minutes for the above committees can be found on the web at:

Other Business: None

Meeting adjourned at 1:03 p.m.

H. Moe, Recorder


For more information about the Board of Trustees, contact Heidi Moe.